13 Comments
Feb 22Liked by Natalie Arriola

I have several projects that I've gotten to a point where I could not continue for various reasons and have come back to complete. It could be that I've learned more about process, my vibes has changed and therefore the direction changed... many different reasons.

Expand full comment
author

Right? I definitely feel like vibes can change everything! Haha! I am very emotional about my work so what I'm feeling while I'm working on something can change everything.

Expand full comment
Feb 21·edited Feb 21Liked by Natalie Arriola

I often revisit old images and every now and then something new that I have learned will jump out and demand to be put to use on an image that I thought was finished.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Robert! I have definitely done this before too. I actually recently re-edited an old image before posting because my editing skills have improved so much since I originally made it and I wanted to bring it up to date.

Expand full comment
Feb 21Liked by Natalie Arriola

This is amazing. Yes, I do revisit old projects. I believe a break, no matte how long, can change your entire perspective. I know that you are focusing on writing which is great, but you shouldn't totally abandon your photography. This is the perfect platform for both.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, Manuela! I agree going back really can change your whole perspective. I'm definitely still planning to keep photography a part of my creative life. Thanks for the vote of confidence!

Expand full comment

My solution to fixing images is to add film grain😂 it softens the image a little, takes away from the digital hardness.

Writing is a great opportunity to revisit things. A short story you wrote a while back, you can look it over with the new wisdom and experience you have and revise it, or write it again in a new and exciting way

Expand full comment
author

Haha! I definitely like to add grain to my images too and I totally get the aversion to that overly digitized look. And yes, I think I have often avoided going back to old projects for the wrong reasons. There is clearly much to be gained from doing so!

Expand full comment

And you have photography + writing so you have even more creative ground to explore.

Imagine taking an old story and mixing the text with images to create a scrapbook-style story, or taking random old photos and writing words in them for a fotonovela story.

Do you have a YouTube on your photography? There are things I want to do with photos sometimes that I don't know how to do, so I get frustrated and add film grain 😂

Expand full comment
author

Haha! Yes, I do have a YouTube, but I haven't really been posting there lately. I'm all Substack at the moment. ;)

Expand full comment

Substack is pretty impressive. You can do just about anything. Maybe even YouTube.

You should consider creating photo tutorials. Find out what people are having trouble with on Photoshop and put simple demos on how to do it.

Expand full comment
Feb 21Liked by Natalie Arriola

Sometimes. I like that image.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks, Bryan! I'm happy with how it turned out. :)

Expand full comment